11 Law Firm KPIs to Effectively Measure Performance.
Even if you’re an experienced lawyer, running a successful law firm is challenging, especially when you’re not keeping track of your operations. All too often, law firms, particularly smaller ones, are constantly struggling to keep up with their workloads, putting out fires as they arise instead of preventing them altogether.
If you’re feeling lost or overwhelmed, one of the best ways to get back on track is to develop and manage law firm KPIs, or key performance indicators. While this term may sound a bit technical, it simply refers to quantifiable measurements you can look at to see what’s working and what isn’t.
Or, to put it another way, key performance indicators empower you and your team to visualize where your firm is falling behind so you know what to fix. This way, you can make informed, data-driven decisions that lead to significant results and improvements.
But you don’t have to figure this all out on your own. We understand that legal professionals have other tasks to handle beyond measuring KPIs. So, let’s break down 11 specific law firm KPIs you can start tracking immediately. From there, it’s only a matter of time before you see improvement.
What are KPIs (in Law Firm Terms)?
Key performance indicators (KPIs) are specific, measurable elements of your law firm’s operations in the areas that matter most to your business. It’s important to understand that law firm KPIs may not be the same from one firm to the next. Figuring out what KPI’s matter most for your firm might be the most important strategic decision you make as a firm operator. The KPIs you focus on reveal your strategic priorities.
Overall, KPIs can help your firm in several ways:
- Gather Valuable Insights – If you’re spending all of your time catching up with case work and administrative tasks, you might not know where your resources are going the most. KPIs give you a broader perspective of your firm’s ability to handle clients and cases.
- Measure Financial Health – Running a successful law firm requires a positive cash flow, just like any other business. Key performance indicators (KPIs) can help you measure law firm profitability and manage a stronger bottom line.
- Enable Continuous Improvement – Even successful law firms can likely streamline their operations and improve productivity. Over time, as you refine your systems, you can grow your firm and deliver better results for your clients.
- Offer Dependability and Predictability – If you’re struggling to handle your current case load, adding more clients to your roster may seem too overwhelming. Law firm KPIs provide actionable insights that make it easier to manage your practice.
That said, KPIs are more than just random data points. They must be relevant to your practice, offer specific, measurable results, and they must be tied to your overall goals. Tracking KPIs is worthless if they don’t lead to more informed decisions.
How to Choose the Right KPIs for Your Firm
As we mentioned, different law firms will want to track and measure KPIs tailored to their specific goals. So, while we’ll outline the top 11 key performance indicators that can work for most law firms, you don’t need to track all 11 to ensure your law firm’s success. Instead, ask questions like:
- What is Your Primary Goal This Year? – For example, if you’re focused on increasing billable hours or boosting profitability, you should rely on financial KPIs. Alternatively, if you’re looking to grow your practice and client roster, focus on client acquisition KPIs.
- What Data Do You Already Collect? – Ideally, you should already measure certain metrics, such as utilization rate or realization rate. Any data you’re currently collecting can help formalize the process by tracking KPIs.
- Who Will Review KPIs and How Often? – Gathering valuable insights is only useful when you’re able to make informed decisions with them. Know who is in charge of tracking and managing KPIs and implementing strategies accordingly.
Also, while it might be tempting to try to measure success for your firm across every department, it’s often better to stay focused on the KPIs that matter most. Typically, it’s much easier to manage a handful of targeted KPIs than juggle too many and fall behind.
Start with the ones that will make the most difference to your law firm’s success, keep track of them for a few months, and then build from there.
The 11 Essential Law Firm KPIs
A. Client and Growth KPIs
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New Matters Opened
Depending on the size of your firm, you can measure the number of new matters opened monthly, quarterly, or annually. Tracking this KPI helps you with elements like:
- Revenue Forecasting – The more matters opened, the more money you can expect to make.
- Staffing Needs – You should already know how many people are needed for each matter, and how many cases your current team can manage simultaneously.
As this KPI fluctuates, you can adjust your earnings and staffing projections accordingly.
2. Client Acquisition Cost (CAC)
To measure client acquisition cost, you should take the total amount you’re spending on marketing and divide it by the number of new clients you take on within the same period.
For example, if you spent $1,000 on marketing and got two new clients, your CAC is $500. Measuring this KPI helps you see how efficient your marketing and referral practices are for getting prospective clients.
3. Client Satisfaction/Referral Rate
Many law firms measure success by looking at client satisfaction and referral rates. Satisfied clients are more likely to come back in the future, and they’re far more likely to refer your firm to others.
The best way to measure client satisfaction is through targeted surveys, where you can track both how many clients fill them out and the scores your firm gets from each survey. Also, any areas receiving low scores tell you what to focus on with prospective clients. You can also derive client satisfaction from KPIs associated with your Google Reviews.
B. Financial Health KPIs
4. Monthly Revenue/Revenue Trend
If you don’t already know how much money your practice makes each month, now is the time to start tracking it. But this KPI measures actual revenue, not projected earnings like billable hours or outstanding invoices in accounts receivable.
On top of knowing your actual monthly revenue, keep track of how it fluctuates throughout the year. Also, see how it compares to projected revenue, as that can tell you where your firm is falling behind.
5. Profit Margin
If your law firm doesn’t have a positive profit margin, it’s almost impossible to keep your business afloat.
The easiest way to measure profit margin is to take your total gross income and subtract all expenses, including utilities, labor costs, tool subscriptions, monthly payments on firm debt, and more.
Ideally, your margin rate should be around 30 percent. If it’s lower, you need to start making adjustments quickly.
6. Realization Rate
Offering discounts and write-offs is common within most law firms, but it’s vital to keep track of how much you’re actually writing off each case. Your realization rate is the number of billable hours divided by the amount actually invoiced to the client.
A good realization rate is around 85 to 95 percent. If your current rate is lower, you probably need to adjust your billing practices.
7. Collection Rate and Days in AR
Although the collection rate and realization rate seem almost identical, there’s a key difference between them. The realization rate refers to how much you invoice your client compared to how many billable hours you actually had on the case.
By comparison, the collection rate is the amount of money you collected from the client compared to the invoice. So, if you have a low realization rate and a low collection rate, your firm is likely in trouble.
Another key metric to measure is the number of days an invoice stays in accounts receivable. The longer invoices go unpaid, the harder it is to maintain a positive cash flow, and the more time and energy you must spend on bill collecting.
As a personal injury lawyer, I don’t have to worry about this one. If you hate collecting money from clients, it’s time to dive into personal injury practice, where your only transactional interaction with your client is disbursing to them from your IOLTA account. Note of caution: Cashflow management in PI is a uniquely challenging problem despite not having AR issues. On second thought, one could argue that every case spends over a year in AR before any money is collected. It’s just a matter of perspective.
C. Productivity and Operational KPIs
8. Utilization Rate
Your firm’s utilization rate is the number of billable hours worked compared to the total number of hours worked. Since part of your time is spent on administrative tasks, this rate will never be 100 percent, but it should hover around 70 percent if possible.
If your utilization rate is too low, that indicates you’re spending too much time on administrative work, and that could lead to burnout or lower client satisfaction. A low rate can also reveal bottlenecks within your workflows.
9. Matter Cycle Time
Matter cycle time refers to the number of days it takes from opening a new legal matter to closing it. While there may be variables outside your control (e.g., client tasks or waiting for opposing counsel), this metric still reflects operational efficiency.
Part of tracking this KPI is seeing how the cycle changes from one case to the next. Certain cases may have a shorter cycle time, enabling you to take advantage by potentially working on more matters during the same period.
10. Non-Billable Time Per Attorney
Although this KPI may be measured through your firm’s utilization rate, it’s also imperative to have a detailed breakdown of non-billable time. Examples can include administrative tasks, professional development, or internal operations.
Breaking down not only how much non-billable time each attorney spends but also the types of tasks they’re doing can help improve workflows and productivity. Attorney time audits are an extremely powerful tool for finding opportunities to make your practice more efficient.
D. Firm Health and Culture
11. Employee Satisfaction/Turnover Rate
As with clients, you should perform employee reviews and offer surveys to solicit feedback. Find out what parts of the job offer the most satisfaction and try to mitigate negative aspects.
Another way to measure employee satisfaction is to look at your turnover rate. A high rate may indicate problems like poor management, burnout, or improper training. A strong firm culture can retain a strong team over the long term.
How to Implement KPIs in a Law Firm
The simplest and most effective way for legal professionals to start measuring KPIs is:
- Plan
- Measure
- Review
- Adjust
First, take the top 5 to 10 performance metrics that matter most to your firm. Make a plan to track these essential KPIs for the next 90 days. Next, set simple and realistic targets for those 90 days based on historical data or expectations.
Track these KPI metrics each month and review them with the leadership team. If possible, automate the tracking process using practice management software or other programs. During the review process, make one or two data-driven decisions based on the metrics.
Repeat this process and adjust your decisions as you go. After 90 days, review and refine your systems as needed, or add more KPIs if you feel comfortable. It’s always best to start small and build from there, so don’t try to measure too many metrics at the beginning.
Using Practice Management Software to Track KPIs
Thankfully, tracking key performance indicators (KPIs) doesn’t have to be a manual ordeal. Utilizing a practice management system allows you to measure these metrics automatically and boost productivity accordingly.
Many PMS platforms already have tools and systems to track various performance metrics, so it may just be a matter of implementing these tools across your firm. If necessary, train team members on how to use each feature to ensure all data is captured accurately.
Also, keep in mind that you may have to integrate multiple tools into a single system to measure every KPI. Ideally, you can track each metric from a single dashboard, rather than having to log into multiple tools.
Overall, taking a tech-first approach to measuring KPIs empowers your firm to turn raw data into actionable insights. Best of all, with help from Levantage, you don’t have to be tech-savvy to make your practice management system work for you.
Common KPI Mistakes to Avoid
While a firm’s growth can be tied to measuring key performance indicators, these data points are not a guarantee for success. Many law firms make these mistakes when trying to take a data-driven approach, so it’s best to avoid them when starting.
- Tracking Too Many Metrics – Yes, having too much data is a bad thing, especially when you don’t know what to do with it. Focus on the KPIs that impact your firm the most.
- Choosing Irrelevant KPIs – Make sure your performance metrics are tied to your firm’s specific goals. As those goals change, your KPIs should, too.
- Reviewing Data Inconsistently – KPIs help you identify areas for improvement, but if you’re only checking the data every so often, you can’t be sure whether your actions are having the intended effect.
- Focusing on the Wrong KPIs – While financial KPIs can help strengthen your bottom line, you shouldn’t ignore other metrics, such as marketing KPIs or operational standards. Your firm is more than its revenue, so take a holistic approach to data tracking and management.
- Not Making Data-Driven Decisions – All too often, law firms track KPIs but don’t know what to do with the information. The goal is to implement better resource allocation within the firm to achieve specific goals. Data without action is just a spreadsheet collecting metaphorical dust.
The Bottom Line: Better Metrics = Better Decisions
If you’re struggling to keep your firm running smoothly, tracking KPIs can be a valuable start to a better future. Once you have quantifiable data at your fingertips, you can identify areas of improvement and start implementing changes immediately.
That said, reviewing KPIs must be an ongoing process, meaning you have to track and manage them regularly. If your firm needs help in developing a tracking system and building a simple dashboard to manage each metric, Levantage is the solution.
At Levantage, we understand that tracking a few critical KPIs is much better than capturing a mountain of raw data. We can guide you through the entire process, step by step.





